Drunk Elephant Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil, the Favourite Child!

Day 7 of the Drunk Elephant challenge and I am starting to love these products as I do my own children. So with that in mind I am about to do the unthinkable of any mother and name my favourite child! All products in the range so far have been equally impressive for their own unique strengths and how they perform in the skin. However, if I was being sent to a desert island and allowed to only take one product from the range the Drunk Elephant Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil would be it.

My skin is oily, if that hasn’t been pointed out previously in my blog, however it is prone to dehydration from environmental factors like weather and air-conditioning. As the largest organ of the human body, the skin communicates with the brain via the nervous system like every other organ. When my skin does become dehydrated it sends a message to my brain through the nervous system that it is drying up.

And let’s face it, if my skin dries, cracks and falls off, there goes my first line of defence against bacteria and the only thing containing my blood and guts within a semi-permeable casing. In a defensive measure to dehydration, irrespective of the fact that I already have a substantial oil flow, my brain sends messages through hormones in the blood back to my sebaceous glands to increase the oil production in my skin.

So as you can imagine, as an oily skinned person I need to stay hydrated and protect my skin from losing water from the surface at all costs! The Drunk Elephant B-Hydra Intensive Hydrating Gel that I reviewed yesterday does do a wonderful job at replacing lost water to the surface layers of the skin. However, if I simply put that product on without sealing it into the skin it would be a waste of time. It would simply dissipate into the atmosphere through osmosis the minute I walk into air-conditioning or any environmentally drying situation.

Yesterday I put the Drunk Elephant Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil to the test on the back of my Husbands Harley Davidson motorcycle. We had decided to go for a ride and believe me, the wind resistance travelling down the Bruce Highway at 110 kilometres an hour can certainly provide the perfect environmental testing ground. The first photo below was taken prior to the ride; I had started the day with the following skin preparation before applying my makeup and SPF:

Cleanse: Drunk Elephant JuJu Bar

Serum: Drunk Elephant C-Firma Day Serum

Hydration: Drunk Elephant B-Hydra Intensive Hydrating Gel

Protective: Drunk Elephant Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil

17016859_1433474056952154_796725462525439708_o

The second photo was after the ride, where you can see my skin still looks and felt hydrated and dewy.

16992278_10154733083913113_4237032816792677727_o

The last photo was taken that night at a birthday dinner, where I simply touched up my lipstick and darkened my eye shadow and blush for night. My skin still felt hydrated and seemed to maintain its luminous glow, regardless of travelling around all day on the back of a Fat Boy facing harsh wind resistance.

16938615_10154731396178113_7759615913377596723_n

For all the obvious reasons this product has become my favourite, extracted through a cold pressed patented water extraction method untouched by heat or chemicals. Packed full of antiaging anti-oxidants to fight free radicals reducing lines, wrinkles and hyperpigmentation that creates blotchiness. Assisting in elasticity of the skin, this little wonder product also contains anti-microbial properties to protect the skin from bacteria.

Pure as outlined in my Nerd Ingredient List below, and housed in an environmentally sound container protected against oxidisation in a sealed airlock pump to preserve the product. How could I not acknowledge that Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil is my favourite child of the Drunk Elephant range?


Nerd Ingredient List

Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil = Marula Oil contains high levels of important antioxidants including Vitamin C, tocopherol (vitamin E), tochotrienol, phenolic compounds, essential amino acids and flavonoids that help cells renew and resist damaging effects of the environment. With regular use, Marula Oil delivers advanced protection against photo-aging – neutralizing free radicals, helps build healthy collagen, and provides antioxidant protection.


References

https://africanbotanics.com/pages/the-beauty-and-skin-care-benefits-of-marula-oil

http://mecca.com.au/drunk-elephant/virgin-marula-luxury-facial-oil/I-025392.html

Leave a Reply

